Forensic Science

BTEC National Level 3 Foundation Diploma
Examination Board: Pearson
Course Leader: Mr G Bradley
Contact Email:

What Will I Study?

Students will study six units over two years to obtain a Foundation Diploma in Forensic Investigation. There are four mandatory units and two optional units from a choice of six.

Mandatory units:

  • Unit 1: Principles and Applications of Science I (Externally assessed)
  • Unit 2: Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques (Internally assessed)
  • Unit 3: Science Investigations Skills (Externally assessed)
  • Unit 4: Forensic Investigation Procedures in Practice (Internally assessed)

Optional units – choose two:

  • Unit 8: Physiology of Human Body Systems
  • Unit 9: Environmental Forensics
  • Unit 10: Forensic Fire Investigation
  • Unit 11: Forensic Traffic Collision Investigation
  • Unit 12: Forensic Photography
  • Unit 13: Forensic Genetics


BTEC Level 3 Foundation in Diploma in Forensic Investigation, equivalent to 1.5 A levels.

Entry Requirements

Students require at least a Grade 5 in GCSE Science.


The course is assessed through a mix of externally and internally assessed units, some involving written examination, some practical investigations and some assignments. The examination board will moderate a sample of learner work to verify standards, or there may be a visit to observe students and their work.

Where Next?

A BTEC in Forensic Science is designed to lead into a variety of courses or employment, including nursing and healthcare, environmental or forensic science courses – but check with specific higher education providers.

Department Staff

Ms A Bevan-Smith Teacher of Science Contact
Mrs E Holmes Teacher of Science Contact
Mrs K Ward Teacher of Science Contact